Priority level

When you arrive at the emergency room, the triage nurse will assess you and determine the priority level that corresponds to your condition:

Priority 1: Reanimation
Your life is in immediate danger (cardiorespiratory arrest, major trauma, etc.)

Priority 2: Very urgent condition
Represents a potential threat to your life, limb integrity or function (heart attack, stroke, etc.)

Priority 3: Urgent condition
Your condition presents some risks, but your life is not in danger (chest pain, serious bleeding, etc.)

Priority 4: Less urgent condition
Your condition does not require immediate attention (sprain, urinary infection, etc.)

Priority 5: Non-urgent condition
You have a minor health problem for which investigation and care can be delayed (cold, backache, etc.)

The waiting time depends on many factors, including your priority level based on your condition, your risk of deterioration, the condition of people remaining under observation in the emergency room, the number of people in the waiting room, the number of ambulance arrivals and the number of doctors in the emergency room. It is hard to predict the wait time as traffic levels are constantly changing. However, rest assured that our teams are doing their utmost to respond to patients as quickly as possible.